Searches for Dark Matter and Axion-Like Particles at Belle II


Helmholtz Young Investigator Group of Torben Ferber

Research Activities

Fig.: Dark Photon production and decay into (invisible) Dark Matter at Belle II (MC simulation).

The Young Investigators Group is located at DESY Hamburg. It is part of the existing DESY Belle II group and is linked to the University of Hamburg. We participate in the Belle II experiment being run at the SuperKEKB collider at KEK in Tsukuba, Japan.

We focus on Dark Matter searches at the intensity frontier. This includes searches for Dark Photons decaying into light Dark Matter, and searches for Axion-Like Particles (ALPs) at Belle II. These searches are competitive even with small datasets that can be acquired in several months of data taking at Belle II.

Our activities are closely related to the reconstruction of photons in the electromagnetic calorimeter (ECL) of Belle II. We are leading the development of ECL reconstruction software with a strong focus on Machine Learning to improve calibration, photon detection and reconstruction. Members of the YIG are convenors of the Belle II Analysis Software, Belle II Event Generators Software, Belle II ECL software, Belle II Dark Sector Physics, and Belle II Neutrals Physics working groups.

We collaborate with the DESY Theory group and explore new directions of Dark Matter searches at the intensity frontier with a focus on neutral and displaced signatures.

→ Job opportunities (Summer student, MS, PhD, Post Doc)

→ Presentations

→ Publications

Team
Torben Ferber (group leader)
torben.ferber@desy.de
Homepage: https://www.desy.de/~ferber/
Short biography

Nataliia Kovalchuk (postdoc)
nataliia.kovalchuk@desy.de

Sam Cunliffe (postdoc)
sam.cunliffe@desy.de

Yu Hu (postdoc)
yu.hu@desy.de

Michael De Nuccio (PhD student (Uni Hamburg))
michael.de.nuccio@desy.de

Abtin Narimani Charan (PhD student (Uni Hamburg))
abtin.narimani.charan@desy.de

Sebastian Stengel (master student (Uni Mainz))
sebastian.stengel@desy.de

Cedric Ly (master student (Uni Hamburg))
cedric.ly@desy.de

→ Join us!